Teams Selection for the WNT Madrid Challenge by La Vuelta 18

July 19 th 2018 - 08:32

Photo: Unipublic/Juanjo Úbeda
Photo: Unipublic/Juanjo Úbeda © A.S.O.

The organisers of the WNT Madrid Challenge by La Vuelta have chosen the teams that will take part in the 4th edition of the Spanish women’s race, that will take place –for the very first time- over two stages on the 15th and 16th of September. 

Boadilla del Monte will host the first stage: a 14 km team time trial, in an unprecedented closed circuit. On Sunday the 16th, the traditional linear stage along the circuit that runs through the centre of Madrid will host the second journey a few hours before the 21st and last stage of La Vuelta 18. The WNT Madrid Challenge by La Vuelta’s usual route will now feature two more finish-lines, thus increasing the trial’s difficulty and length by 11.6 km.


21 UCI WorldTeams are automatically invited to the race:


Ale’ Cipollini (ITA)

BePink (ITA)

Bizkaia Durango – Euskadi Murias (ESP)

BTC City Liubliana (SLO)

Cervelo – Bigla Pro Cycling Team (CHE)

Cogeas – Mettler Pro Cycling Team  (RUS)

Cylance Pro Cycling (USA)

Doltcini – Van Eyck Sport (BEL)

FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope (FRA)

Health Mate – Cyclelive Team (BEL)

Hitec Products – Birk Sport (NOR)

Lotto Soudal Ladies (BEL)

Mitchelton Scott (AUS)

Movistar Team Women (ESP)

Parkhotel Valkenburg (NED)

Sopela Women’s Team (ESP)

Swapit Agolico (MEX)

Team Sunweb (NED)

Valcar PBM (ITA)

Wiggle High5 (GBR)

WNT Rotor Pro Cycling Team (GBR)


In addition to these 21 teams, the organisers have awarded with a wildcard the Spanish Women’s Cycling Team.


Follow us

Receive exclusive news about Madrid Challenge

By browsing this site, you accept the use of Cookies in order to offer to you an advertising tailored to your interests, and to perform traffic statistics.

To find out more